Ring of Wishes Script in Part

Ring of Wishes Excerpt

INT. A COMIC BOOK STORE – DAY

A WOMAN walks in the comic book store. She walks to the

left. DANL is being HIDDEN by ALISTER and other customers.

CALISTA

DANL! WHERE are you? DANL!

DANL

MOM! Mom over here.

The WOMAN (CALISTA) who was calling walks over to the DANL

who is by ALISTER who was telling DANL the story.

CALISTA

DANL! Come here!

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED: 4.

DANL

But mom, I’m talking to this man.

He has been telling me a gre…well

I hope a great story.

CALISTA

Hello sir, is my child bothering

you?

ALISTER

No, no he is just fine.

(Alister puts his hand out to

shake hers)

Nice to meet you mam. My name is

Alister.

DANL

Mom, he writes comic books.

CALISTA

Oh…

(Beat)

Oh hi.

(she shakes his hand)

You look familiar.

ALISTER

Oh.

(Beat)

Oh I must have one of those faces.

Alister was trying to place her too, but he was having a

struggling time doing so.

CALISTA

No! No I think I know where.

ALISTER

You…you…do?! Well, I’m in here

at least a couple times a week.

CALISTA

No…no not here somewhere else. I

just can’t place it.

DANL

I thought you wanted me…was it

because you wanted to to get some

food?

CALISTA

Oh, yes…that’s why I was looking

for you. It’s getting late.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED: 5.

(She takes her sons hand)

Well nice to meet you Mr. Alister,

but we need to go.

ALISTER

Okay, but I promised I would finish

my story tomorrow if you don’t mind

bringing your son back.

CALISTA

Oh! Oh…kay.

Calista walks her son out of the comic book store. Alister

goes back to one of the boxes full of older comics.

ALISTER (V.O)

Now that was weird.

(He shakes his head)

I still can’t place her. Well I’ll

keep on thinking and maybe tomorrow

when I tell Danl more of my story.

As Alister stands in front of the box for a couple of

minutes, thumbing through picking out a comic then putting

it back. Then taking out another as Calista rushes in with

her son being pulled behind.

CALISTA

Alister I…I remember you now.

Where I’ve seen you. That is.

ALISTER

O…Oh really. WHERE?

CALISTA

I…I’ve seen you before I was in

and out of consciousness.

ALISTER

Wha…You, were what mam?

Both Alister and DANL look at the Calista wondering what she

was talking about.

DANL

Mom what are you talking about?

CALISTA

Well, DANL it was when you were

four. Your dad and I went on a date

as you stayed with your grams. It

was five almost six years now.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED: 6.

ALISTER

Okay so what does that have to do

with me?

CALISTA

You don’t remember? Well let’s just

say you ripped the door off of the

car. And you saved me.

DANL

No…no way is this the guy you

told me about. The

super-strong guy who saved you

before the car you were in blew up.

CALISTA

Do you remember now Mr. Alister?

ALISTER

Ah…

(Beat)

Well…

(Beat)

Yes…yes I remember.

(Beat)

I…well DANL few people know this

story so I’m going to let you and

your mom in on a little secret. It

happened like your mom started to

say. But let me start where it

started for me and my best pal

Su y.

DANL

Who is Su y?

ALISTER

You’ll soon find out.

DANL

Okay…mom can we stay and listen

to the story.

ALISTER

How about this…let us three go

have something to eat, and I’ll

tell you on our way and during our

dinner. How’s that sound?

Pulling at his MOMs jacket.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED: 7.

DANL

Come on mom he did end up saving

your life.

CALISTA

True. And I do love a great story.

ALISTER

Okay…Let’s go then.

They walk out of the comic book store.

EXT. COMIC BOOK STORE – DAY

ALISTER

I will start my story once we get

in the cab.

(Whistles)

HEY TAXI!

Alister waves his arm.

ALISTER (CONT’D)

It’s going to be a good story.

A taxi pulls over. Alister opens the back door and lets the

Calista in first then the boy. He then himself gets in.

INT. TAXI CAB – DAY

DANL

Okay we are in, start the story.

ALISTER

Hold one moment please.

CALISTA

DANL Shh!

ALISTER

Thirteen and Roosevelt.

CABI

Yes, sir.

ALISTER

Okay let me start.

CALISTA

Wait where are we going to eat.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED: 8.

ALISTER

Well, Renchos my good Calista.

Sorry had to say that.

CALISTA

That is the new premiere

restaurant.

ALISTER

Yep.

CALISTA

But…

ALISTER

No butts please! I do hope that’s

not on the menu.

CALISTA

Uhh!

ALISTER

Now lets get to the story.

DANL

Mmmhmm!

CUT TO:

EXT. OUTSIDE – DAY (5YRS EARLIER)

We see Alister and a dog walking on a path. We see trees on

one side and houses on the other side.

ALISTER (V.O.)

My dog Su y and I walked the same

path day after day for years behind

our house. They called it the

Greenbelt. They decided to name it

that because the green you can see

with the trees and the green grass.

We see side view of Alister and his dog (SU Y) as some

people jog by.

ALISTER (CONT’D)(V.O.)

Well, it started oh five or six

years ago…

DANL (V.O.)

Yeah, we got that. Come on, get the

story going.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED: 9.

CALISTA

Shhh! He’ll get to it.

FADE TO:

EXT. OUTSIDE ON THE GREENBELT – DAY (5YRS EARLIER)

We see Alister and SU Y (DOG, Beagle Mix) walk on a path on

one side there are trees the other side has houses and very

green grass.

ALISTER (V.O.)

Su y and I had walked the path

behind our house for years. But I

felt it was time for a change.

(Beat)

So, one day we did just that.

EXT. OUTSIDE ALISTER’S HOUSE – DAY

Alister takes Su y and starts to walk towards his truck.

ALISTER

Su y lets…yeah lets go somewhere

we haven’t been before.

Alister puts the tailgate down.

ALISTER (CONT’D)

Come…get up Su y.

Alister taps the tailgate.

ALISTER (CONT’D)

Come on Su y.

Su y jumps up.

ALISTER (CONT’D)

Good girl.

Alister closes the tailgate.

ALISTER (CONT’D)

We’re going to walk the path in the

forest.

Alister pats Su y on the head.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED: 10.

ALISTER (CONT’D)

This will be different. Won’t it

Su y?

(Beat)

Damn wish you could talk to

Ring of Wishes Script in Part

About WhiteShadow

The writer of these words did not originally want to put words to paper, but to draw the glorious things he saw. However, he could not draw from images in his mind. He could only draw those things he saw that had been drawn by others. He then almost died one day and that urge to draw became the urge to write. Again, however, the fuel was not always there, and before he knew it it was his senior year of high school, and he was tasked to write a 50page novella for a final project. This became the fuel and started his path of being a full-time writer. He may have struggled and may have made no difference in the world of man nor money in his hand, but he still moves forward. He currently is writing a comic book that has an artist who draws the things that are envisioned. Life could be better, but it could be always worse. So he keeps his head low to write but high to live life. This is the story of this man, to know more, read the words he has put into the world of the web. View all posts by WhiteShadow

Leave a Reply

